Skip to main content
Top bar image


Mafi research group

Principal Investigator

Arash Mafi

Photo: Arash Mafi
Principal Investigator
Ohio State University, PhD Physics

Arash Mafi is an Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy and a member of the Center for High Technology Materials (CHTM) at the University of New Mexico.

He received his undergraduate degree in Physics from Sharif University of Technology, and his master's and Ph.D. degrees in Physics from The Ohio State University.

Following his postdoctoral appointments at the University of Arizona in Physics and The Optical Sciences Center, he joined Corning Inc. as a Senior Research Scientist working on optical fibers and liquid crystal displays.

He moved to the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in 2008, where he was an Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, before joining the University of New Mexico in 2014.

He served as the General Chair of the Optical Science and Engineering (OSE) Graduate Program in the 2015-2016 academic year and has been the interim director of the Center for High Technology Matreials (CHTM) since July 2016.

He was a recipient of the Early Career Development (CAREER) Award from the National Science Foundation in 2013.

His research interests include quantum and nonlinear behavior of optical waveguides, and light propagation in disordered media with applications in optical image transport.

PhD Students

Behnam Abaie

Photo: Behnam Abaie
PhD Student

Esmaeil Mobini

Photo: Esmaeil Mobini
PhD Student

Mostafa Peysokhan

Photo: Mostafa Peysokhan
PhD Student

Hamed Pourbeyram

Photo: Hamed Pourbeyram Pourbeyram
PhD Student

BS Students

Cody Bassett

BS Student

Bryan Rubio

BS Student

Former Group Members

Dr. Elham Nazemosadat, Postdoc (2012-2015), presently with Chalmers University of Technology

Dr. Salman Karbasi Valashani, Ph.D. (2009-2014), presently a postdoctoral scholar at UC San Diego

Dr. Parisa Gandomkar Yarandi, Ph.D. (2009-2013), presently a postdoctoral scholar at Texas A&M University

Dr. Krishna Mohan Gundu, Postdoc (2009-2010), presently with SIMULIA of Dassault Systemes

Dr. Rodrigo Acuna, (Ph.D. student jointly with Prof. Law) Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics, National University of Colombia, Colombia

Craig Mirr, M.S. (2009-2011), Electrical Engineering Outstanding Student Award, December 2011, presently with GE Health Care

Aaron Mueller, (presently a Ph.D. student with Prof. Law), Misra Award and Electrical Engineering Outstanding Student Award, May 2010

Ryan Frazier, (presently a Optical Product Design Engineer with Analog Devices

Rex Allen, Undergraduate, Electrical Engineering Outstanding Student Award, May 2011

Joseph Wychesit, Undergraduate

Lian Reaser, Undergraduate